A gift…

A few weeks ago I made a pillow for my mother-in-law.  It was a spur of the moment thing.  I am making new slipcovers for my dining room chairs and had a scrap piece of fabric that was the perfect size.  I dug through my stash and found the lace trim.  At first, my plan was to cover the entire front with the trim, but after making a few rows, I envisioned something else.  I embroidered the phrase “I hope you dance…” on it because that song is one of her favorites.  It has a lot of meaning: she and my husband danced to it at our wedding; soon after that she began living on her own for the first time in many, many years; and after living near us since then, she is starting a new adventure again by buying a house near the beach many miles away from us.  Through various trials and tribulations, but also a great many joys, the words of this song serve as a reminder that this world has so much to offer and we need to live life to the fullest.

I think she is going for a neutral-colored-textural feel in her new bedroom, so I thought this would look nice.

I (of course) didn’t take pictures during the process because I didn’t know where I was going with it.  I have already sent it to her, so she did me a favor and took pictures for me to post.

Image

Image

And one that shows the lace detail/texture a little better:

Image

“MaRGe” – I hope your prayers get answered and when nothing seems like it’s going right, just turn the music up and let go!

Categories: Sewing | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “A gift…

  1. That is beautiful!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

